The District is divided into 7 Tehsils/Sub Tehsils for administrative convenience. A Tehsil is headed by Tehsiladar/Naib Tehsildar in the in Cadre of H.C.S .Each Tehsil consists of villages whose performance is constantly monitored by the concerned Tehsiladars/Naib Tehsildars. The List of Tehsils are:

Sr. No Name ofTehsil
1. Ambala
2. Ambala Cantt
3. Saha
4. Mullana
5. Barara
6. Shazadpur
7. Naraingarh